Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose "My Campus" tab.

Search by campus:

Borrowing Policies for Undergraduate Students
Loans, Renewals, Fines ...

View Graduate Student
Faculty/Staff Member
Community Borrower/Alumni Association Member
Government Documents Borrower

Type of Item  Loan Period  Renewal Limit  Fines  Grace Period  Note 

Normal KSU Items

3 weeks (21 days)

4

$0.10/day

7 days

$15.00 fee applies to items returned after having been billed for replacement.

OhioLINK Items

3 weeks (21 days)

6

$0.50/day. $50.00 if overdue >30 days.

7 days

Materials overdue for over 30 days are billed for replacement at $125 ($75 replacement charge + $50 billing fee).

OhioLINK Non-Book Items

1 week

No renewals

$1.00/day. $50.00 if overdue >30 days.

None

Materials overdue for over 30 days are billed for replacement at $125 ($75 replacement charge + $50 billing fee).

Kent State Audiovisual (AVS) Materials

7 days

1

$0.50/day

None

 

Recalled KSU Items

2 weeks

No renewals

$1.00/day

None

You will receive notification if an item you have borrowed has been recalled.

Recalled OhioLINK Items

1 week

No renewals

$2.00/day

None

You will receive notification if an OhioLINK item you have borrowed has been recalled.

Periodicals

0, 1, or 7 days

No renewals

$1.00/day

None

Check with library staff - may vary by library location, date of material, title, bound/unbound, etc.

2-hour Reserve Items

2 hours

No renewals (see note.)

$0.50/hour or partial hour

10 minutes

May be checked out again (in effect, "renewed") if not in demand.

May be checked out overnight when borrowed within 1 hour of Circulation Desk closing.

2-hour/No Overnight Reserve Items

2 hours

No renewals (see note.)

$0.50/hour or partial hour

10 minutes

May be checked out again (in effect, "renewed") if not in demand. Items cannot leave the building.

1-, 3-, or 7-day Reserve Items

1, 3, or 7 days

No renewals (see note.)

$1.00/day

None

May be checked out again (in effect, "renewed") based on availability after a 24-hour waiting period.

Interlibrary Loan Services (ILL) Items

3 weeks, or as-marked

Contact ILL office

$1.00/day

None

 

Government Document Items

(See note and other item types.)

(See note and other item types.)

(See note and other item types.)

(See note and other item types.)

Circulate as normal items, unless designated as Reserve, Reference, non-circulating, etc.

Reference Items

0, 1, or 7 days

No renewals

$1.00/day

None

Many Reference items do NOT circulate; some items may loan for 1 day. Some items, especially those located in Main Stacks, may loan for 7 days. Check with library staff.

Map Library Items

2 weeks

No renewals

$0.50/day

None

 

Renewals

Items that are renewable will not renew if there are other holds or requests for the item; though usually possible, renewals cannot be guaranteed, so plan your research accordingly!

More renewal information ...

back to top

Fine Payment

Fines can be paid at the Kent Campus Main Library Circulation Desk with cash, check, credit card, or FlashCash *. Credit card payments can also be made online by logging in to your KentLINK library account. Fines that have been invoiced - submitted to the Bursar's Office - are payable through the Bursar's Office or at the library. Fines that have not been invoiced may be submitted to the Bursar's Office upon request, in person, at the Circulation Desk; fines submitted to the Bursar's Office by request will not clear from a patron's library record until they are paid.

* A cash balance that can be added to your FlashCard - food plan balances do not apply.

back to top

Grace Periods

A fine will not be assessed for items returned (or renewed, when applicable) within their grace period. If an item is returned after the grace period, the fine will accrue from the most recent due date (not the end of the grace period), from patron's record, for the entire period the item is overdue. 2-hour Reserve and Periodicals have a ten (10) minute grace period. If the item is returned after the grace period, the fine will accrue from the most recent time due (not the end of the grace period) for the entire period the item is overdue.

back to top

-->