Community members 16 years of age or older may become Community Borrowers free of charge by requesting borrowing privileges at the Circulation desk of any Kent State University Library.
Procedures for Community Borrowers
- All patrons with borrowing privileges must present a valid photo ID (and mail with current address if address is not on the photo ID) when borrowing materials.
- Community Borrower privileges are valid for one year from the date of application, and may be renewed upon payment of any outstanding fines, fees, or other charges.
- Community Borrowers are limited to a maximum total check-out of 20 items at one time. Of these 20 items, a maximum of five OhioLINK items may be either requested and/or checked out at one time. If the maximum number of items is reached, the borrower must return some items before they can check out or request additional items.
- For a complete list of loan periods, renewals, and fines, please see the Community Borrower circulation policies.
- Community Borrowers may specify other persons allowed to use their borrowing privileges. These users must be authorized in person by the borrower filling out and returning the "Proxy Borrower Form." This form is available online, and at the Circulation Desk of any Kent State University Library.
- Changes in name, address, telephone number, or authorized users must be reported, in person, to the circulation desk of any Kent State University library. A valid photo ID (and mail with current address if address is not on the photo ID) must be presented when changing any information.
- Community Borrowers are subject to all policies governing the use of Kent State University Libraries and its collections.
- Community Borrower privileges exclude remote access to licensed electronic resources, including OhioLINK resources. Visitors may use library materials within the library; some in-house resources may carry similar restrictions.
- Community Borrowers may use Interlibrary Loan. Charges are $10 per filled request in addition to any charges assessed by the lending library.
- Please note that Library overnight hours, from 11 p.m. - 7:30 a.m., Sunday - Friday morning, during the fall and spring semesters, are restricted to current Kent State University students, faculty, and staff.
- For high school students under the age of 16, or without a valid photo ID, high school teachers/librarians have two other options.